Air Fryer Recipes: Homemade Plantain Chips

I told you guys I was falling in love with my air fryer all over again!  I was watching Dr. Oz yesterday + Wendy Williams was on as a guest.  She was blah, blah, blah-ing about her new healthy lifestyle and between half paying attention + waiting for Maury to come on, she actually said something of interest to me.  She shared her recipe for homemade plantain chips + ketchup.

Yes, you read that right.  She makes her own ketchup.  Definitely got my attention.

I wasn’t about to jump off the edge + try homemade ketchup, but since I had a few plantains at home, I decided to give the plantain chips a try.  She makes hers in the oven, but I thought this recipe could easily be executed in my air fryer, so I gave it a try.

Here’s the simple + easy recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 ripe plantains
  • Olive oil spray
  • Ground sea salt

Instructions:

  1. Peel plantains + cut into 1/2 inch rounds.  You can also opt to make them bigger if you like.
  2. Spray a little olive oil at the bottom of the air fryer to prevent sticking.  Place plantains in the air fryer + spray a little more olive oil to coat them.
  3. Set the air fryer to 350 degrees + cook for 20 minutes.
  4. Take out of the air fryer + grind sea salt on top, to taste.
  5. Serve w/ dipping sauce or by itself!

Alternative method:

If you don’t have an air fryer pour olive oil on a baking sheet to coat the bottom.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Place the plantain chips on the tray + cook for 25 minutes.  Take out of the oven + grind sea salt on top.

Finished product:


I was really happy w/ how the plantain chips turned out for my first attempt!  I served mine w/ supremely spicy hummus.

Enjoy the recipe!

Want to get your hands on an air fryer too?  It’s on sale now for only $89.00 in my store.

Leave a Reply

