App Review: Thumbtack

My mentor + friend, Seven of Seven and Company Studios, recently expanded his salon by moving into a bigger, fabulous space in Bethesda, MD.  A month or so ago I stopped by to check out his new space + see the construction progress.

While walking around I saw the contractor working HARD + asked where he found him. He told me that he found him on a new app that’s available on iPhone + Android called Thumbtack

IMG_5473

Sample work at Seven and Company from a Thumbtack Professional

 The app helps you find professionals such as contractors, home stagers, interior designers + more!  You can even use it to find a professional to help you learn a new language.  It’s perfect for finding people to get the things you need done!

Screen shot 2015-04-07 at 10.35.34 AM

After checking out the app myself, I found out that they had a special version for contractors called Thumbtack Professionals, so I decided to sign up to offer staging + home decor services.

Bad idea.

Screen shot 2015-04-07 at 10.35.44 AM

The app promises to find customers for you, based on your services offered.  When a customer is seeking your services they send you a message + you send them over a quote.  The set up process didn’t take long, but after creating my profile I realized I couldn’t customize it because I didn’t have any Thumbtack Coins.

Problem #1: You need Thumbtack Coins for EVERYTHING!

Problem #2: They never explicitly tell you where you can actually get these coins!

Problem #3:  When a customer requests a quote you have to PAY to respond + it’s not cheap.  Sending over your quote could cost you anywhere from $15-20 per customer.

Problem #4:  There’s no guarantee that the customer will even select you, nor do they send you any follow up to let you know that you weren’t selected.

Problem #5: They will tempt you by sending you TONS of requests for quotes from “customers” seeking your services.  After a while I wasn’t convinced that these customers actually existed, just seemed like the app wanted my money, knowing I wasn’t going to get the job.

Problem #6: The reviews are HORRIBLE!  Before signing up I didn’t actually read the reviews, but after feeling like things were a bit sketchy I went to see what other people were saying about.  Trust me, it was nothing good.

Overall only try the app if you are SEEKING a service, NOT offering it.  However, I deleted the app for both the general + professional users.

It really wasn’t worth the headache.

Leave a Reply

