Ask TBR: Where Can I Find Cheap House Plants?

Because I get so many questions ranging from where to go in DC to cheap first date suggestions, I’ve decided to start an “Ask TBR” series.  I love helping out my friends and now I’m interested in seeing what questions my readers have for me!

Today’s question is, “Where can I find cheap house plants?”

Here’s my answer:

At your local high school!

I know, I know, it’s not the answer you were thinking of.  BUT, most high schools have a horticulture department and most horticulture departments have what??  PLANTS!

During the Spring high schools hold plant sales where you can get your favorite herb, spice, or house plants for as little as $1!  Talk about a steal!

Pick up a hanging or potted plant to spruce up your home without breaking the bank at a nursery.  And you get to support the local students in your community.  Sounds like a win-win to me!

Local to DC?

Check out these schools for plant sales this Spring:

+ Damascus High School

+ Springbrook High School

+ Montgomery Blair High School

+ Wootton High School

Got a question?  Send them my way at theblackrebeccadc@gmail.com for a chance to be featured!

Leave a Reply

