IKEA Lack Hack

I make it a point to re-do my home every few years.  It helps to refresh the space, and curb my appetite for wanting to move somewhere else. My BFF is a self-proclaimed DIY-nista and is constantly creating custom pieces for her home…and mine! One of my favorite pieces that she created was a cubed nailhead side table using those cheapie IKEA lack tables. I’m all for having high end looking pieces for rock bottom prices, so after seeing a similar table for almost $400 online recently (yikes!), I’ve decided to share this simple IKEA hack for others on a budget.

What you’ll need:

– 2 IKEA lack side tables (any color of your choice)

ikeatableikeatable

– Liquid Nails adhesive

– Nailhead strips (gold or silver)

OLD GOLD STRIP-200x200

– Scissors

scissors

– Patience

Step 1: Assemble one of the tables, according to IKEA’s instructions (as shown). ikeatable Step 2: Take the table top ONLY from the second table and nail or screw into the bottom of your table.  This will create a cube! step12

          photo via instructables.com

Step 3: Apply Liquid Nails to the nail head strips to adorn your table.  Only apply to the outer perimeter of the cube.  You can also use regular nail heads and glue each one, however, the strips are less tedious. beforeafter

photo via instructables.com

Voila!  You now have a conversation piece made by you for less than $50–a $350 savings from high-end retailers!

Here’s my custom table in my home.  My home has since been renovated with new furniture.  We jazzed up my table top by painting it and adding a design.

Screen shot 2015-01-27 at 1.59.37 PM

Get creative with even more hacks to the IKEA lack table!

alternative1 alternative2 alternative3

Leave a Reply

